April Showers…

There’s a saying here in Canada that April showers bring May flowers. The academic year ebbs and flows in predictable cycles from one year to the next. I’ve been a professor for almost 6 years now, but despite this fact, April always sneaks up on me. I always assume that April will be a quieter month since I’ve finished with my in-class teaching, but each year April is very busy and my calendar fills up with a plethora of appointments, committee meetings, seminars, and workshops. You’d think that after 5 years of April doing this sneak attack I’d wise up, but so far it hasn’t happened. It’s like the mud puddle in the Robert Munsch book…just waiting for me to come outside so that it can mess up my carefully laid plans.

April’s one redeeming quality is the start of Blue Jays baseball.

Leave a Reply

