A New Hope

This is not a post about Star Wars; sorry if you saw the title and came here expecting something else. It is instead how I felt last night once I had a chance to look at the new cabinet selected by our Prime Minister (PM).

The first thing that struck me is that the cabinet and the PM arrived together on a bus and that members of the public were welcomed to the grounds of Rideau Hall to take part in the event. This is a great change from the closed door policy of the previous government and the previous method of having each minister arrive separately. These new ministers look happy to be there. I was also pleased to see that the PM included his partner and his children in the events of the day. I have hope that this will be a functional cabinet where ministers are free to be themselves and express their opinions.

The second reason that I have hope is because of this photo.

new cabinet image

Image copyright CBC

This is an awesome photo! This photo matches what I think of when I think about being Canadian. People who have different genders, gender identities, sexuality, ancestry, religion, personalities, regional affiliations, experiences, life realities, challenges, and motivations. It is so wonderful to see people who look like me in this photo; it makes me feel like I belong in this country and that a version of my voice will be heard in Parliament.

Several other things that give me hope…

We have a Minister of Innovation, Science, and Economic Development. This highlights the key role that science and technology play in a financially successful Canada.

But wait! There’s more! We have family doctor who is the new Minister of Health. We have a Minister for the Status of Women!! We have a Minister of Environment and Climate Change!!!! We have a newly created position of Science Minister!!! All of these portfolios are held by individuals who have impressive credentials, life experiences, and the ability to get things done. They are all women. We have for the first time in this country a cabinet with a 50:50 sex ratio that is truly reflective of the Canadian population.

Today, I am very proud to be Canadian.

An excellent start Mr. Trudeau!

Leave a Reply

