The Academic Curriculum Vitae (CV): Employment history and education and training sections

After listing your personal information, the next sections of a CV are the employment history and education and training sections. When I was a student and a post-doc I didn’t have professional employment other than being a teaching assistant so I only had an education and training section on my CV at that time. Since being hired as a tenure-track faculty member I now include an employment history section on my CV. The order and content of these sections will depend on your professional experience.

On my CV I’ve listed my employment history first. This will include any academic appointments that you have held (e.g. Assistant Professor, Lecturer, Course Instructor, etc.) and should include any adjunct appointments that you hold (e.g. I’m an adjunct member of the graduate faculty at a nearby institution). In addition to the position title you will also want to list the date that you started each position and when the employment ended. If you still hold the position just list the date that you started with a dash (e.g. 2010-) or list the start date and indicate that you still hold the position (e.g. 2010-present).

In the education and training section you want to list your academic pedigree. List your most recent training first. On my CV I first list my two post-doc appointments, then my Ph.D., then my M.Sc., and finally my B.Sc. degree. Once you have entered graduate school I would suggest dropping your high school achievements off of your CV. For each training or educational opportunity that you put on your CV you should list the dates of the training (e.g. 2008-2010), the title of the training period or degree (e.g. Ph.D. in Molecular Biology), the department (e.g. Biology), the institution (e.g. University of Toronto), the city (e.g. Toronto), the province (e.g. Ontario), and the country (e.g. Canada). Listing the country where the degree or training took place is especially important if you are submitting your CV for an international position. Next you should list the name of your research supervisor and the title of your research project or thesis.

Including this information up front on your CV allows the job search committee to get a quick idea of your career stage and academic and employment history.

In my next post I’ll talk about the scholarship and research section.

Leave a Reply

